Click on the categories below to find useful links to other organisations working with or for Deaf people:

Victorian Deaf Services & Organisations

Other State-based Deaf Services & Organisations

National Deaf Services & Organisations

International Deaf Services & Organisations

Sign Language Interpreter Services

Other Useful Links


Victorian D/deaf services

Able Australia (Formerly the Deafblind Association) http://www.ableaustralia.org.au/
Better Hearing Australia http://www.betterhearing.org.au/
deafaccess Victoria http://www.vicdeaf.com.au/content.asp?id=113&t=contact&cid=52
Deaf Arts Network (Arts Access Victoria)  http://artsaccess.com.au/deaf-arts-network/
Deaf Children Australia http://www.deafchildrenaustralia.org.au/
Deaf Victoria http://www.deafvictoria.org.au/
Department of Human Services (Victoria) http://www.dhs.vic.gov.au/home

John Pierce Centre

http://www.jpc.org.au/
Word of Mouth Technology  http://www.wom.com.au/
Deaf Sports and Recreation Victoria http://www.dsrv.com.au/
Victorian Deaf Education Institute http://www.deafeducation.vic.edu.au/

Back to top


Other State D/deaf Services

ACT
 
ACT Deafness Resource Centre http://www.actdrc.org.au/actdrc/
Canberra Deaf Club http://www.canberradeafclub.org.au/
Canberra Deaf Kids http://www.canberradeafkids.org.au/
NSW
 
Deaf Society of New South Wales http://www.deafsocietynsw.org.au/
Royal Institute for Deaf and Blind Children http://www.ridbc.org.au/
QLD
 
Deaf Services Queensland http://www.deafservicesqld.org.au/
SA
 
Deaf CanDo http://www.deafcando.org.au/
CanDo4kids http://www.cando4kids.com.au/
TAS
 
Tasdeaf - Tasmanian Deaf Society Inc Australia http://www.tasdeaf.org.au/
WA
 
WA Deaf Society Inc http://www.wadeaf.org.au/

 

Back to top


National D/deaf Services

Telephone and Video Relay Services

 

Australian Communication Exchange

http://www.aceinfo.net.au/

National Relay Service

http://www.relayservice.com.au/
   
Fundraising Organisations  
Deafness Foundation http://www.deafness.org.au/
   
Peak Lobbying Bodies  
Deafness Forum of Australia http://www.deafnessforum.org.au/

Deaf Australia (formerly the Australian Association of the Deaf - AAD) 

http://www.deafau.org.au/
Australian Federation of Deaf Societies  http://www.afds.org.au/ 
Australian Deaf Blind Council http://deafblind.org.au/
   
Sports  
Deaf Sports Australia http://www.deafsports.org.au/
   
Captioning Services  
Access Innovation Media http://www.ai-media.tv/
The Captioning Studio http://www.captioningstudio.com
Caption It http://www.captioning.com.au/
Media Access Australia http://www.mediaaccess.org.au/
Captioned Movies Listings http://www.yourlocalcinema.com.au/
Red Bee Media Australia http://www.redbeemedia.com.au/
   
Information for Parents with Deaf Children  
Parent Council for Deaf Education http://www.pcde.org/
Aussie Deaf Kids  http://www.aussiedeafkids.org.au/ 
Hear For You Youth Mentoring http://www.hearforyou.com.au/
   
Government Services  
Australian Communications and Media Authority http://www.acma.gov.au/ 
Job Access http://jobaccess.gov.au
Australian Hearing http://www.hearing.com.au/
Centrelink http://www.centrelink.gov.au
   

Back to top


International D/deaf services

Action on Hearing Loss (Formerly RNID (Royal National Institute for the Deaf) UK) http://www.actiononhearingloss.org.uk/
British Deaf Association http://www.bda.org.uk/
Canadian Association of the Deaf  http://www.cad.ca/
Deaf Resource Library http://www.deaflibrary.org/
Deaf Cultural Centre – Birmingham, UK http://www.deafculturalcentre.com/
Deaf Culture Centre – Toronto, Canada http://www.deafculturecentre.ca/
Irish Deaf Society http://www.irishdeaf.com/

National Association of the Deaf (USA) 

http://www.nad.org/
Royal Association for Deaf People (UK) http://www.royaldeaf.org.uk/
World Federation of the Deaf http://www.wfdeaf.org/
World Recreation Association for Deaf People http://www.wrad.org/
Deaflympics (Formerly World Deaf Games) http://www.deaflympics.com
International Committee of Sports for the Deaf http://www.ciss.org/

Back to top


Sign Language Interpreter Organisations

Australian Sign Language Interpreters Association (Victoria) http://www.asliavic.com.au/
Australian Sign Language Interpreters Association National http://www.aslia.com.au/
National Accreditation Authority for Translators and Interpreters http://www.naati.com.au/

Australian Institute of Translators and Interpreters

http://www.ausit.org/

Diploma of Interpreting at RMIT

http://www.rmit.edu.au/programs/c5116

Back to top


Other Useful Links

Disability Organisations  
Department of Human Services (Disability Services) http://www.dhs.vic.gov.au/for-individuals/disability
DisabilityCare Australia

http://www.disabilitycareaustralia.gov.au/

Divine Community for People with Disability http://www.disability.vic.gov.au/
Office of the Public Advocate http://www.publicadvocate.vic.gov.au/
Disability Services Commissioner http://www.odsc.vic.gov.au/
   
Human Rights and Equal Opportunity, Disability Discrimination  
Human Rights & Equal Opportunity Commission (Victoria) http://www.humanrightscommission.vic.gov.au/
Disabilility Discrimination Act http://humanrights.gov.au/disability_rights/dda_guide/dda_guide.htm
Disability Discrimination Legal Service (Vic) http://www.communitylaw.org.au/clc_ddls/cb_pages/about_us.php
   
GLBT Disability Support Services http://www.glbtdisabilitysupportservices.com.au/
Better Health Channel http://www.betterhealth.vic.gov.au/
Arts Access Victoria http://artsaccess.com.au/
Deaf TV http://www.deaftv.org.au/
Deaflinx http://www.deaflinx.com/
   
Education  
deafConnectED (formerly the Centre of Excellence for Deaf and hard of hearing students) http://www.deafconnected.com.au/
ACE Disability Network http://www.acedisability.org.au/
Gallaudet University http://www.gallaudet.edu/
Disability Standards in Education http://www.ddaedustandards.info/
   
Research Institutes  
Latrobe University National Institute of Deaf Studies and Sign Language http://www.latrobe.edu.au/hcs/nids/
Macquarie University Sign Language LINGuistics Group http://www.ling.mq.edu.au/centres/sling/index.htm
Griffith University http://www.griffith.edu.au/
California State University – Northridge http://www.csun.edu/coe/dfst/
National Technical Institute for the Deaf – Rochester Institute of Technology  http://www.ntid.rit.edu/
Bristol University UK – Centre for Deaf Studies http://www.bris.ac.uk/deaf/

 

Back to top